Nurse Practitioner Trauma Speciality Group

Vision, innovation, expertise

Photo of the Shock Trauma nurse practioners team

Program Managers:

Education Coordinator: K. Brooke Andersen, MSN, CRNP

The Shock Trauma Center Nurse Practitioner / Physician Assistant Group consists of advanced practice nurses and physician's assistants dedicated to providing exceptional care to the traumatically injured patient. The nurse practitioners and physician's assistants are experts in their respective fields, many of whom are nationally recognized speakers and authors.

Shock Trauma Nurse Practitioner / Physician Assistant Group holds a major presence on every service including:

Nurse Practitioner Trauma Specialty Group

  • Trauma Neurosurgery
  • Traumatology
  • Soft Tissue Surgery
  • Pain Management
  • Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery
  • Orthopaedics
  • Critical Care
  • Infectious Disease

Nurse Practitioners and Physician's Assistants are key members of a team that delivers cutting edge holistic care, which reduces complications and leads to earlier discharge. Both physicians and bedside nurses depend upon this cohesive group of Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants to maintain continuity of care, facilitate progression of the patient through the complex trauma system, as well as respond to crises big and small.

The Nurse Practitioners and Physician’s Assistants at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center are famous for their ability to “make it happen”, whether the situation calls for acute resuscitation, daily patient management, or discharge coordination. Their impact on patient care is critical and vital.


Shock Trauma NP's/PA's by Specialty

UMMC Shock Trauma NP/PA Group logo

Nurse Practitioner Clinical Program Managers

Carla A. Aresco, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Critical Care
Manager of: Critical Care, Neurotrauma, Acute Pain Management
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing; University of Massachusetts in Worcester (Post Masters in Acute Care)
Undergraduate Degree: Saint Joseph College, West Hartford, CT
Interests: Neurotrauma; Trauma Prevention
Email: caresco@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Joseph Larivey, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Trauma Orthopaedics
Manager of: Trauma Orthopaedics, Acute Care Emergency Surgery, Plastic Surgery
Graduate Degree: Bowie State University
Undergraduate Degree: University of Rochester
Interests: Soft Tissue Coverage
Email: Jlarivey@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-6280

Trish Martin, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Soft Tissue Surgery
Manager of: Soft Tissue Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Interests: Skin Graft Donor Site Management; Nursing Education
Email: tmartin@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-2399

Michelle Willis, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Manager of: Traumatology, Infectious Disease
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interests: Vascular Injuries; Sepsis
Email: mwillis2@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Acute Care Emergency Surgery

Barbara C. Eaton, MS, CRNP
Specialty Areas: Acute Care Emergency Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland
Undergraduate Degree: Curry College
Email: beaton@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-5831

Lindsay O'Meara, MS, CRNP
Specialty Areas: Acute Care Emergency Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: East Carolina University
Interests: Traumatic Brain Injury; Trauma Prevention; International Healthcare; Acute care surgery
Email: lomeara@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-5831

top

Infectious Disease

Patty Casper, RN-C, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Areas: Clinical Nursing Director of Pain Management for Shock Trauma, Infectious Diseases
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Certifications: Sigma Theta Tau, Phi Kappa Phi, National Certification- Advanced Pain Management
Interests: Acute Pain; Geriatric Pain Management; Infectious Diseases; Nursing Research for Clinical Based Evidence
Email: pcasper@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Trauma Neurosurgery

Jennifer M Massetti, BSN, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Trauma Neurosurgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interests: Spinal Cord Injury; Traumatic Brain Injury; Trauma Resuscitation
Email: jmassetti@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Cara Diaz, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area:
Traumatology
Graduate Degree:
University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree:
University of Pennsylvania
Interests:
Trauma Induced MI and Vascular Injuries
Email:
cdiaz@umm.edu
Office:
410-328-9109

top

Pain Management

Patty Casper, RN-C, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Areas: Clinical Nursing Director of Pain Management for Shock Trauma, Infectious Diseases
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Certifications: Sigma Theta Tau; Phi Kappa Phi; National Certification- Advanced Pain Management
Interests: Acute Pain; Geriatric Pain Management; Infectious Diseases; Nursing Research for Clinical Based Evidence
Email: pcasper@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Sally Sachse, RN-C, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Acute Pain Management
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing/Union Memorial Hospital School of Nursing
Interest: Pain Management in the Critical Care Patient; Phantom Limb Pain; Pain in the Spinal Cord Injured Patient
Email: ssachse@umm.edu, bsachse@msn.com
Office: 410-328-9109

Scott Taylor, RN-C, MS, CRNP, NREMT-P
Specialty Area: Acute Pain Management
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: Towson University
Certifications: Pain Management
Interest:
Pain Management in the Trauma Patient; Treatment of Pain in the Elderly
Email: staylor@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Trauma Orthopaedics

Julia Dunning, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Trauma Orthopaedics
Graduate Degree: Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing (BSN); University of Maryland Baltimore County (BA)
Interests: Orthopedic Trauma
Email: jdunning@umoa.umm.edu
Office: 410-328-6280

Karen L. Garden, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Adult Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Subspecialty Cardiology
Graduate Degree: MSN University of Massachusetts - Worcester
Undergraduate Degree: Boston College
Interests: Orthopaedic Trauma; Osteomyelitis; Soft Tissue Injuries; Fragility Fractures; Limb Correction and Deformity Correction; Non-unions and Mal-unions
Email: kgarden@umoa.umm.edu
Office: 410-328-6280

top

Critical Care

Sharon Boswell, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interests: Endocrinology; Geriatric Trauma
Email: sboswell@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

T. Nicole Kelley, MS, CPSN, CCRN, RNFA, CRNP
Specialty Areas: Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: York College of PA
Interests: Use of Nurse Practitioners in the Operating Room; Microvascular Free Tissue Flaps
Email: tnkelley@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Traumatology

K. Brooke Andersen, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Nebraska Medical Center
Undergraduate Degree: University of Nebraska Medical Center
Interests: Traumatic Brain Injury; Neurological Monitoring
Email: Kandersen2@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Sherry Cummins, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland at Baltimore
Undergraduate Degree: University of Phoenix, AZ
Interests: Traumatic Brain Injury; Trauma Surgery
Email: scummins@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Kristie Davalli, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interests: Trauma Surgery; Multisystem Traumatic Injuries
Email: kdavalli@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Tiffany Hein, PA-C, MMS
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: Saint Francis University
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland
Interests: Resuscitation; Abdominal Trauma; PA's in Trauma
Email: thein@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Maria Soledad Ordaniel, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of St. La Salle School of Nursing, Philippines
Interests: Neurotrauma; Multisystem Traumatic Injuries
Email: mordaniel@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Ellyn Tennyson, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Illinois School of Nursing
Interests: Pelvic Trauma; Entero-Cutaneous Fistulas
Email: etennyson@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

Jennifer Trenary, MS, CRNP
Specialty Area: Traumatology
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interests: Traumatic Brain Injury; Spinal Cord Injury
Email: jtrenary@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-9109

top

Soft Tissue Surgery

Felicia Batten, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Soft Tissue Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: Hampton University
Interests: Necrotizing Soft Tissue Infections
Email: fbatten@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-2399

Michelle Dunn, MSN, CRNP
Specialty area:
Soft Tissue Surgery
Graduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Undergraduate Degree: Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, Johns Hopkins University School of A&S (BSN/BA)
Interests: Public Health; Health Care Systems; Preventive Medicine
Email: mdunn@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-2399

Elena Keller, MSN, CRNP
Specialty Area: Soft Tissue Surgery
Graduate Degree: Bowie State University
Undergraduate Degree: University of Maryland School of Nursing
Interest: Complex Chronic Wound Management; Enterocutaneous Fistulae Management
Email: ekeller@umm.edu
Office: 410-328-2399

top

This page was last updated: April 28, 2014

         
Average rating (0)