Emergency Medicine and Critical Care Fellowship

Program Director: Jay Menaker, MD, FACEP 

Program Coordinator: Dora Russell

Download Application here

The Emergency Medicine/Critical Care Fellowship at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center University of Maryland Medical Center is a 2 year program that allows eligibility for surgical critical care board certification through the American Board of Surgery.

The first year is designed to focus on ‘a clinical experience in the foundations of surgery and the management of complex surgical conditions’. The second year is the current Surgical Critical Care fellowship at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center. (see Surgical Critical Care Fellowship page)

Emergency Medicine/Critical Care fellows must have successfully completed an ACGME accredited Emergency Medicine residency (either 3 or 4 years).

Rotations for the first year are as follows:

  1. Acute Care Surgery (UMMC) – 2 months
  2. Trauma Surgery (STC) – 2 months
  3. Vascular Surgery (UMMC) – 1 month
  4.  Cardiac Surgery (UMMC) – 1 month
  5. Soft Tissue Service  (STC) – 1 month
  6. Trauma Orthopedics (STC) – 1 month
  7.  Trauma ICU - 3 months
  8. Elective – 1 month

Obtaining emergent consultation or transferring patients to the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center takes only OneCall, day or night, to 1-800-373-4111 or 410-328-1234.

This page was last updated: September 18, 2013

Average rating (0)