Trauma and Emergency Radiology

Currently, the University of Maryland Medical Center’s Trauma and Emergency Radiology section is accepting applications for fellowships in:

Academic year 2017-2018, and
Academic year 2018-2019.

Trauma and Emergency Radiology Fellowship

The goal of the Trauma and Emergency Radiology fellowship is to train radiologists who are experts in the use of imaging to both diagnose and characterize acute illnesses and injuries in a busy, fast-paced environment that typifies contemporary Emergency Radiology practice.

Clinical experience is the most important component of the program, and the fellow is an integral participant in the Trauma and Emergency Radiology section’s clinical activities, including evenings, nights, and weekends, which are integral to Emergency Radiology practice. With increasing experience and competency, the fellow is granted graduated clinical independence.

The section is strongly committed to teaching, which applies to the fellow as both a trainee and an educator. The section actively participates in weekly conferences with both the Emergency Medicine and Trauma Surgery services. Daily teaching of medical students and radiology residents assigned to the section while at the PACS workstation is a fundamental part of the fellow's responsibilities. The fellow is expected to conduct a total of 2-3 didactic lectures or case conferences for the radiology residents.

The section is academically productive, and members participate in a number of research activities both within the section and in collaboration with other services. Though not mandatory, participation by the fellow in research is strongly encouraged, and, when possible, academic time is provided to work on an approved project.

If desired, up to two 1-2-week electives in Neuroradiology, Ultrasound, and/or Pediatric Radiology can be arranged to augment the fellowship.

The University of Maryland Medical Center’s Department of Radiology hires 1-2 fellows to participate in its Trauma and Emergency Radiology every academic year. The typical application cycle spans late 2nd-year to early 3rd-years of Radiology residency. Applicants must have passed ABR core exam, or be ABR certified, and meet requirements for both Maryland licensure and credentialing at the department’s affiliated facilities.

Please direct inquiries to the fellowship coordinator, Alexis Boscak, MD, or the section’s administrative assistant, Brenda Gilchrist.

Overview of the Trauma and Emergency Radiology Section

The Trauma and Emergency Radiology section is part of the Department of Radiology at the University of Medical Center (UMMC), which is a quaternary referral center that includes the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center (STC), an urban emergency department (ED), a Comprehensive Stroke Center, and a large number of intensive care beds. The section’s faculty and fellows provide 24/7/365 in-house coverage of the STC and UMMC ED with emphasis on radiography, CT, and MRI. Clinical volume is high, and the breadth of the section’s clinical coverage results in its involvement with patients presenting with a wide spectrum of traumatic and non-traumatic emergent conditions.

Most of the section’s service is provided to patients at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, which is Maryland’s designated Primary Adult Resource Center for trauma, which mandates clinical services and resources greater than those needed for level I trauma center designation. The center’s wide catchment area includes most of Maryland, in addition to parts of Delaware, Pennsylvania, and West Virginia. Due to the STC’s large catchment area, which includes urban, suburban, and rural areas, patients present with a wide spectrum of injuries, including complex polytrauma, resulting from a variety of different injury mechanisms.

In addition to serving acutely traumatized patients in STC’s Trauma Resuscitation Unit (TRU), the section is responsible for all diagnostic imaging performed for in-patients and outpatients under the care of the Trauma Surgery service. The section also serves the center’s busy soft tissue infection service and critical care receiving unit (CCRU), which is an 8-bed facility that serves as the point of entry into the medical center for many critical care patients transferred to UMMC. Patients in the CCRU suffer from a number of complex, non-traumatic conditions, including brain attack, cerebral aneurysm, aortic dissection, mesenteric ischemia, acute limb ischemia, and ARDS.

The Trauma Radiology facility is located adjacent to the trauma admitting area (i.e., TRU) and includes portable radiography, two CT scanners (Philips 64-MDCT & Siemens Force DECT) and a reading room with three PACS workstations. All clinical workstations have TeraRecon and syngo.via post-processing capabilities.

The section also serves the Adult ED, a 50-bed facility physically separate from the trauma center where patients present with primarily non-traumatic and minor traumatic disease, such as acute appendicitis, pneumonia, and low-energy extremity fractures. The imaging facility within the ED includes a 256-slice MDCT, two free-standing direct radiography units, portable radiography, ultrasound, and a reading room with five PACS workstations. A separate pediatric emergency department is served primarily by the Pediatric Radiology section.

Section members are recognized nationally and internationally as experts in the areas of Trauma and Emergency Radiology. Members routinely publish book chapters and peer-reviewed research, lecture at national society meetings. Locally, the section actively participates in the education of trainees in Trauma Surgery, Emergency Medicine, and Critical Care Medicine, in addition to Diagnostic Radiology. The section enjoys close relations with Trauma Surgery and Emergency Medicine with whom it works closely both clinically and academically.

Currently, the section consists of 8 members (1 part-time): Clint W. Sliker, MD (section director); Krystal Archer-Arroyo, MD; Uttam Bodanapally, MBBS; Alexis Boscak, MD (fellowship director); David Dreizin, MD; Thorsten Fleiter, MD; Stuart E. Mirvis, MD (section director, emeritus); and K. Shanmuganathan, MBBS.

Average rating:
(based on 0 ratings)