Etapas del cáncer

Toggle: English / Spanish

Etapas del cáncer

La clasificación de los carcinomas se lleva a cabo de acuerdo al tamaño del tumor y el grado de penetración del mismo. Cuando el tumor es pequeño y no ha penetrado la capa mucosa se dice que es un cáncer en etapa I. Los tumores en etapa II se hallan dentro de la pared muscular y la etapa III afecta los ganglios linfáticos cercanos. Los cánceres en etapa IV son raros y se han diseminado (metástasis) a órganos lejanos.

Version Info

  • Last Reviewed on 11/17/2012
  • Yi-Bin Chen, MD, Leukemia/Bone Marrow Transplant Program, Massachusetts General Hospital. Also reviewed by A.D.A.M. Health Solutions, Ebix, Inc., Editorial Team: David Zieve, MD, MHA, David R. Eltz, Stephanie Slon, and Nissi Wang.

A.D.A.M., Inc. is accredited by URAC, also known as the American Accreditation HealthCare Commission ( URAC's accreditation program is an independent audit to verify that A.D.A.M. follows rigorous standards of quality and accountability. A.D.A.M. is among the first to achieve this important distinction for online health information and services. Learn more about A.D.A.M.'s editorial policy, editorial process and privacy policy. A.D.A.M. is also a founding member of Hi-Ethics and subscribes to the principles of the Health on the Net Foundation (

The information provided herein should not be used during any medical emergency or for the diagnosis or treatment of any medical condition. A licensed medical professional should be consulted for diagnosis and treatment of any and all medical conditions. Call 911 for all medical emergencies. Links to other sites are provided for information only -- they do not constitute endorsements of those other sites. © 1997- 2013 A.D.A.M., Inc. Any duplication or distribution of the information contained herein is strictly prohibited.

This page was last updated: May 7, 2013

Average rating (0)